What is the best way to notify the view model ...

Oct 1, 2010 at 4:04 AM

I'm new to BXF and CSLA and I'm wondering what would be the best way to notify the view model that the user had changed a value in a field in the view. On the form there is a field that once a user enters a value a calculation must be preformed and the results displayed.

Would using a CSLA TriggerAction on the field looking for a ValueChanged trigger event be the best way ?

Can someone else suggest a better method.

Developer
Oct 2, 2010 at 11:00 PM

Hi Terry

I suppose you could setup a CSLA TriggerAction to subscribe to an event on the control and subsequently call a method on the view model to do the "calculation". That would work.

To me it sounds a bit like there is missing business logic (to do the heavy lifting for you). Think about the following alternative, for example:

• Your business object has a field called DateOfBirth (public get and set)
    • In the View there is a TextBox / DatePicker that binds to it (via it's view model that is using your BO for its model).
  • Your business object has a field called Age (no public setter) which needs to store the age once your "calculation" (to extract it from DateOfBirth) happens.
    • In the View there is a TextBlock / Label that binds to it.

From my point of view this "calculation" is a "Business Method" and there is also a business rule that states, "When the DateOfBirth changes, recalculate and update the Age". Create a CSLA validation rule for the "DateOfBirth" property that simply returns true, but before doing so calls the "calculate" method that re-calculates and updates the "Age" field (SetProperty) accordingly.